Blydenburgh Lake, also known as Stump, New Mill or Weld's Pond, is located within Blydenburgh County Park in Smithtown. Fed by the headwaters of the Nissequogue River, it is one of the least developed and most picturesque ponds on Long Island.
Area: 100 acres
Maximum depth: 8 feet
Mean Depth: 3 feet
Aquatic Plant Life:
In some years, this shallow mill pond becomes heavily vegetated with Hydrilla during the height of summer, which could make fishing very challenging to someone not used to fishing in such heavy plant cover.
For more information, visit DEC's Aquatic Invasive Species webpage.
A Suffolk County Green Key is required for entry into the park and a seasonal parking fee may apply.
For more information call Blydenburgh County Park at (631) 854-3712 or go to Suffolk County Parks' website.
Access to the lake is via many dirt footpaths located around the perimeter of the lake.
Directions: There are two entrances to the park. The main entrance is off NYS Rt. 454 (Veterans Highway) across from the Denison Building in Hauppauge; the other is off New Mill Road just south of Jericho Turnpike (NYS Rt. 25) in Smithtown.
Boating Access: Suffolk County Parks rents rowboats seasonally, usually from Memorial Day through Labor Day. Call the park for further details. Additionally, hand launching of private boats is permitted, whenever the park is open, at the boat dock at the south end of the lake. Shoreline access is available and wading is permitted. The park is closed from dawn to dusk.
Largemouth Bass, Bluegill, Pumpkinseed, Brown Bullhead, Yellow Perch, Black Crappie, Common Carp.
This lake is a popular hotspot for largemouth bass, bluegill, pumpkinseed and yellow perch fishing. Fairly recently, black crappie have made an appearance and are starting to be targeted by local anglers. Blydenburgh Lake has a history of producing trophy largemouth bass, and 8 pound bass (24 inches long) are not unheard of! DEC Volunteer Angler Diary cooperators report catch rates between 0.4 and 1 bass per hour, and seven Catch-and-Release Angler Achievement Awards have been given here for largemouth bass, and two for yellow perch.
The shoreline of Blydenburgh Lake is a well-balanced mix of undisturbed fish habitat and access points for shore based anglers. Wading along the shoreline is possible, but there are many hidden submerged stumps and logs that can make wading difficult.
Blydenburgh Lake and Blydenburgh County Park have a rich history. Around 1798, Susannah Smith (of the Smiths of Smithtown) and her sister Elizabeth inherited the land that is now Blydenburgh County Park. Susannah and her husband, Isaac Blydenburgh, bought out Elizabeth's share of the land. They then built a mill complex with Isaac's cousins, Joshua and Caleb Smith (does that name sound familiar?). The mill was named the new mill (hence New Mill Pond) as opposed to the old mill located downstream at Phillips Mill Pond. As part of this milling complex, approximately 100 acres of forest was cut down. The dam created for the milling complex flooded these 100 acres into what is now known as Blydenburgh Lake. Because the logging operation left stumps that were visible under the water's surface, the lake originally had the name of Stump Pond. You can still find some of the stumps when wading the shoreline of the lake, so be careful!
In 1938, David and Mary Floyd Weld bought the land, lending a third alternative name to the lake (Weld's Pond). Suffolk County purchased the property in 1965. In 1969, Suffolk County named the property Blydenburgh County Park. Historic landmarks in the park include the 1798 New Mill, the 1802 Miller's House, the 1860 Farm Cottage, outbuildings and the 1820 Blydenburgh-Weld house.
Activities in the park include hiking, horseback riding, picnicking, camping, bird-watching, and, of course, fishing.
Health Advice on Eating Fish You Catch:
Visit NYS Department of Health website for health advice on eating fish you catch.